Clinical Studio has a powerful feature called Versioning to make compliant and controlled changes to studies without needing to pause the study. Study subjects can run on multiple versions in parallel. For example, subjects who have already withdrawn from a study would not need to have study design changes applied to their data, so they could remain on a prior version, while the active subjects are migrated to a newer version.
When a new study has versioning enabled, a Version tab will appear on the study configuration page.
New studies will automatically have one version in place with In Development status.
From this page, the following actions can be taken:
- Publish study versions - This locks down the forms and visit schedules unless another version is added to make changes
- Create/edit study versions
- View the difference, or changes made, between versions
- Un-publish study versions
- Delete study versions
The system limits studies to having one Development version at a time. As each version is published, the form shown above can be used to add a new development version.