Q. What is the difference between Host Copy Study and Create a Study in the Study Manager


A. 

1) "Host Copy Study" should only be used for copying studies between Hosts.   


If you want to copy a study within a host, it is much better to use the Study Manager application as it allows you to select a study from which to copy that will include all Sites and Users in addition to the rest of the study data. 

 


What gets copied In Host Copy Study? 

 

Host Copied Study: Studies are being copied between Hosts; therefore, there are some minor restrictions as to what is copied. All information including configurations, roles, rights, forms, subjects, reports and extract data sets are included in the copy and will be available on the new study for the selected Destination Host. 

 

However, because sites are Host-specific, they are NOT copied over. In addition, because of that, Users are also not copied over to the Destination Host. It is the responsibility of the Destination Host to add the appropriate Sites and Users to the new study. The one exception is user who copied the study will be added to the new study. 

 

In addition, the first Administrative Site in the Destination Host will also be added to the new study. The copy study user will be added to that Site with an Administrator role. From there, the user with the Administrator role can bring other Users and Sites into the new study.


2) What Gets Copied When Creating New Studies

Every study created in Clinical Studio is a copy of another study.

 

If you just created your first study, the following elements are provided by Clinical Studio as a template to help you get started quickly:

 

 

From this, you can simply begin enrolling subjects to explore the interface or follow the study build guide to configure it differently.

 

For subsequent studies, you have the option of copying some additional elements:

 

  • Copy Sites and Users from Default study (This will create sties on destination if they do not exist)
  • Copy Subject Data from Default study
  • Copy File Attachments from Default study


One exception to that rule is you don't check "Copy Sites and Users from Default Study" the person doing the copy will be set up as ADMIN USER in the administrative site automatically.  Read here for information on adding Users